BRCGS Food Safety Start!

BRCGS Food Safety Start Logo

BRCGS Food Safety Start!

The BRCGS Food Safety Start Standard is for smaller sites where the full BRCGS Food Safety Standard may not always be practical, add value, or in the sites that are still developing their food safety management systems. There are 2 requirement levels – basic & intermediate, which provide a platform towards certification of the full Food Safety Standard if required.

The Standard is made up of the following 8 Sections

  1. Senior Management Commitment
  2. The Food Safety Plan – HACCP
  3. Food Safety and Quality Management System
  4. Site Standards
  5. Product Control
  6. Process Control
  7. Personnel
  8. High-Risk, High-Care and Ambient High-Care Production Risk Zones

The Basic level of the Start! Programme requirements are intended as a minimum to assist sites to comply with Food Safety legal requirements, including HACCP or a risk-based approach to food safety management, Staff Training, minimising cross-contamination, traceability, product testing and recalls.

The intermediate level builds upon the basic level to provide for extensive controls of the above requirements such as an extension of the HACCP plan, and documented Quality Manual System.


By conducting a Gap Analysis of your current systems against the standard, our team of experienced and qualified consultants can identify potential gaps and create a project plan to achieve and maintain accreditation. This can by done by either on site or as part of our remote support service.

For a free initial business assessment, contact us on 01434611568 or